board of governors | Assiniboine Community College

Board of Governors

Assiniboine Community College is governed by a Board of Governors as legislated in the Colleges and Consequential Amendments Act of the Province of Manitoba, Canada. The Board is responsible to the Minister of Advanced Education and governors are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

The Assiniboine Community College Board of Governors considers itself to be a policy board and has adopted a governing style that emphasizes outward vision, encourages diversity, provides strategic leadership and that clearly distinguishes between the work of the board and college staff. The board is responsible for establishing college policy, developing the long-range vision and mission statement, ensuring effective and efficient management of resources, and maintaining communication with the community the college serves.

You can view the Board Governance Handbook here
The minutes of our Board of Governors meetings can be found here.


Michael Cox

Michael Cox - Chairperson

Michael has been a licensed architect since 1975 and is the principal of Michael J. Cox Architect, a Brandon firm that has served the western portion of Manitoba since 1979.  He received his Bachelor of Architecture degree from the University of Manitoba in 1971.  Michael serves on the Board of Directors of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada and the Brandon Downtown Development Corporation (Renaissance Brandon).  He is a Past President of the Manitoba Association of Architects, the Board of Directors of the Art Gallery Southwestern Manitoba, and the Kinsmen Club of Brandon.



Heather Dodds

Heather Dodds - Vice Chairperson

After growing up in Brandon, Heather attended the University of Manitoba to obtain a Bachelor of Commerce and then returned to Brandon to work in the Technology department at MNP LLP for 11 years. Heather sits on the Board of Directors of the Manitoba Construction Sector Council, the Advisory Committee for the Construction Safety Association of Manitoba and the Workforce Development Committee at the Brandon Chamber of Commerce. She is an active parent volunteer at her children's school as an executive on the parent council for the past 10 years and band program treasurer for the past 2



Scott Andrew

Scott Andrew - Member

Scott is currently the President and CEO for Moston House Ltd. Group of Companies, which includes Andrew Agencies Ltd., 18 Insurance Brokerages in Manitoba and Saskatchewan; RFNOW Inc., an Internet Provider in Manitoba and Saskatchewan; and Custom Software Solutions Inc., a provider of insurance software across Canada. He has been the President of the Insurance Brokers Association of Manitoba as well as a director on the Insurance Brokers Association of Canada(IBAC). Scott resides in Virden with his wife Jennifer and his three children Hayden, Tyson and Samantha.



Randy Brown

Randy Brown - Member

Randy is currently the acting CEO for Westoba Credit Union Ltd. in Brandon MB. He has been employed in the credit union system in a number of communities in western Manitoba for the past thirty years. He has been a volunteer for several service clubs and has served as the chair of the Brandon Chamber of Commerce and the public relations chair of the Brandon and Area Community Foundation. He currently serves on the ACC Foundation board and the Renaissance Brandon board. Randy graduated from the business administration program at ACC in 1978.



Lillian Houle

Lillian Houle - Member








Laura Kempthorne

Laura Kempthorne - Member

Laura is currently the general manager of the Brandon Area Community Foundation (BACF). Prior to her employment with BACF she spent nine years as an office manager for Stiles & Kelly Transport and 15 years at Kelleher & Company Chartered Accountants. She was also an employer representative on the Employment Insurance Board of Referees for five years. An active volunteer in the community, Laura’s involvement has included various roles with major events in Brandon: the 2010 MasterCard Memorial Cup, the 2008 Safeway Select Manitoba Curling Championships, the 2007 City of Brandon 125th Birthday Celebration, the 2006 Special Olympics Canada Summer Games and the 1997 Canada Summer Games.


Thomas MacNiell

Thom MacNeill - Member

Thom MacNeill (BA, BEd, MEd, PhD) is a graduate of the universities of Windsor, Saskatchewan, and Alberta. In his thirty years at Brandon University, he accumulated extensive experience in curriculum and program planning at the local and provincial levels. Additionally, he served as President of the BU Faculty Association and the Manitoba Organization of Faculty Associations. He also served as a Department Chair, a Senator, and Dean of Education.




Jim Murray

Jim Murray - Member

A lifelong Brandon resident, Jim is married to Margaret and together they have three sons and seven grandchildren. Having served on the Brandon School Division Board of Trustees for the past 18 years, Jim has developed a deep appreciation for education as the most important thing we do as a society. Jim and Margaret currently own and operate Hair Today Mall Barbers.




Terry Parlow

Terry Parlow - Member

Terry has lived in Brandon for over 20 years and is currently a firefighter and paramedic with the City of Brandon. He has volunteered his time for many youth sports and community events over the years and is currently board chair of the Brandon Family YMCA. He has also served on several other boards including the Brandon Regional Health Authority.




Jamie Robinson

Jamie Robinson - Employee Representative

Jamie grew up on a family farm in the Hartney area and came to ACC in 1983 to study in the Heavy Duty Equipment Technician program. He held various positions with Hamilton & Allen, Transx, Manitoba Highways and several years self-employed in his chosen trade.

Jamie has been an instructor at ACC for over 17 years. He is passionate about what the college offers students to ensure their time at ACC is an exceptional learning experience. Jamie supports youth sports, was president of ACC’s Alumni Association for 11 years and continues to volunteer his time at college events.