Rick Borotsik named as honorary diploma recipient | Assiniboine Community College
Narrow results:
Rick Borotsik named as honorary diploma recipient

Rick Borotsik named as honorary diploma recipient

Written On: 26 May, 2016
Category: Awards Community Graduation

Assiniboine Community College will be presenting political and community leader Rick Borotsik with an honorary diploma this June.

“I am thrilled to be recognized by the college and to receive this honour,” said Borotsik. “Assiniboine Community College is second to none in Manitoba.”

Borotsik’s political career spans more than three decades across all levels of government. He was first elected to Brandon City Council in 1977 and represented the University Ward for eight years.

After spending time in the private sector working in Alberta and Ontario, Borotsik and his family returned to Brandon where he was soon elected Mayor, a position he held for seven years over three terms.

He made the jump to federal politics in 1997 as the elected Member of Parliament for Brandon-Souris. Borotsik retired after two terms in 2004, but re-entered the political stage in 2007 to represent Brandon West in the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba for one term.

Among the many accomplishments Borotsik has lead in Brandon and the Westman community are the implementation of the Brandon-led provincial 911 emergency services and the development of the Riverbank Discovery Centre.

“Rick has chosen to spend his life and career working tirelessly on behalf of Brandon and the Westman region to attract investment and attention on both a provincial and national stage,” said ACC president Mark Frison. “We’re proud to name him as one of our honorary diploma recipients this year.”

Borotsik will receive his Honorary Diploma at the college’s Brandon graduation ceremony on June 2 at the Keystone Centre in Brandon.

ACC awards honorary diplomas to those who demonstrate excellence in their personal and professional accomplishments. The college has been awarding honorary diplomas since 2009. Past recipients at the annual Brandon convocation include Jim Treliving (2014) and Mildred Murray (2015).

Around The College