General banner

Board of Governors

For more information, please contact Shaun Cameron at

About the Board of Governors

Assiniboine Community College is governed by a Board of Governors as legislated in the Colleges and Consequential Amendments Act of the Province of Manitoba, Canada. The Board is responsible to the Minister of Economic Development and Training and governors are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

The Assiniboine Community College Board of Governors considers itself to be a policy board and has adopted a governing style that emphasizes outward vision, encourages diversity, provides strategic leadership and that clearly distinguishes between the work of the board and college staff. The board is responsible for establishing college policy, developing the long-range vision and mission statement, ensuring effective and efficient management of resources, and maintaining communication with the community the college serves.

You can view the Board Governance Handbook here.
The minutes of our Board of Governors meetings can be found here.

For Board of Governor's specific inquiries please contact:

Shaun G. Cameron
Secretary to the Board of Governors
(204) 725-8731

President's Expense Policy

As per the college's policy F38 - President's Expenses, approved expenses by Assiniboine's Board of Governors will be documented on this webpage.


Our Board of Governors

Jeff Harwood - Chairperson

Jeff Harwood (Brandon) worked as a teacher for over thirty years in the Brandon, Portage La Prairie and Kelsey school divisions. He also served as a City Councillor for Brandon (from 1986-1992 and 2006-2018) as well as Deputy Mayor. Mr. Harwood has been involved with many local boards including as a past member of the Keystone Centre Board and Co-Chair of the City of Brandon Municipal Heritage Advisory Board.

Dale McKay - Vice Chairperson

Dale McKay (Brandon), is the Vice-Chairperson of the Assiniboine Community College Board of Governors. Dale is the general manager of Shur-Gro Farm Services Ltd. where he has worked in various roles since 1986. He is also the general manager of Munro Farm Supplies Ltd. McKay has developed governance experience by serving on various boards including time as chair of the Brandon Chamber of Commerce Agriculture Committee.

Jody Parsonage- Board Member

Jody Parsonage was employed as Secretary-Treasurer for Tiger Hills and Prairie Spirit School Divisions for 20 + years. She served as a regional representative for the Manitoba Association of School Business Officials. She resides on the family farm and owns Air Greenway Ltd, an aerial spraying company. Jody is an active member of the Waves of Hope dragon boat team as a paddler and treasurer.

Carla Milne- Board Member

Carla Milne (Brandon) is a Chartered Accountant with MNP (2000-present). She has served on numerous local boards including the Construction Association of Rural Manitoba (2012-present), the Brandon Chamber of Commerce (2011-2015) and the BRHA Room for Renewal Fundraising Committee (2014-2015).

Lloyd Carey - Staff Representative

Lloyd was raised on the family farm in rural Manitoba. Lloyd first attended Assiniboine for Agricultural Mechanics and subsequently took the Heavy Duty Equipment apprenticeship program. Lloyd worked for MacDon Industries as a Service Representative before returning to Assiniboine as an instructor in 1999. Lloyd brings a diverse mixture of industry knowledge and education techniques that make him a well-respected member of the Assiniboine faculty. Lloyd now resides on the family farm with his wife and children, spending his spare time camping, travelling and working in his repair shop at the farm.

Mona Cornock - Board Member

Mona Cornock is a Professional Home Economist who has worked in rural community development across Manitoba and internationally throughout her career. She has served on various boards and organizations including the Keystone Centre Board of Directors, the Wheat City Curling Club, the Canadian Society of Extension, the Manitoba Home Economics Association and the Agriculture Institute of Canada.

Ruth Mealy - Board Member

Ruth retired as a provincial economic development specialist in 2018 where her work focused on developing Community Economic Development programs and resources for rural and northern communities. She was a board member of the Canadian Rural Revitalization Foundation and is an honorary life member of the Economic Developers Association of Manitoba. Since retiring, Ruth has been a consultant in economic development for many communities and agencies across the province. She was councillor and then reeve for the Municipality of Grassland council from 2016 – 2023, and resides on the family farm near Minto, with her family.

Amanda McGregor- Board Member

Katelyn Sisson- Board Member

Julia Teichroeb - Student Representative