A New Assiniboine College Brand Identity Read more

Assiniboine announces 2019 Parkland Region Alumni Award Recipients

2019 Alumni Award recipients - Parkland

Four members of the Parkland community will be recognized on April 11, at Aspen Lodge in Dauphin

Assiniboine Community College’s (ACC) Alumni Association has just announced the recipients of this year’s Parkland Region Alumni Awards, to be presented at the annual Parkland Region Alumni Celebration in Dauphin on April 11.

This year’s recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award is Jamie Harvey. The award honours alumni of the college in the Parkland Region who have distinguished themselves in both their chosen profession and the community. It recognizes the outstanding personal and professional achievements of the college’s finest graduates.

Harvey is a 2004 graduate of the Business Administration program. After graduation, he began to advocate for housing needs in the community. This advocacy led him to become the Director of Parkland Crossing, an organization that leads in providing support and housing opportunities for the community. Harvey worked with local partners, faith-based volunteers and government representatives to advocate on behalf of those in need of a roof over their head. “I am honoured to be acknowledged by the college and community. Education is key to finding and following your passion. Over the years, I have learned that mine is to help people. If you want to do mission work and change the world, there is plenty to do right in our backyard,” said Harvey.

The Excellence in Teaching Award honours a faculty member for extraordinary contributions to teaching and the student experience. This year, the award will be shared by two recipients from the same program. Cheryl Sorenson-Voigt and Melanie Hawranik-Sobering are both instructors in the Practical Nursing program at Assiniboine’s Parkland campus, and have been nominated by their students for the award.

Another special recognition will take place that night, as the Alumni Association recognizes Joan Clarkson for all her work serving the college community. A Student Success Advisor at the college’s Parkland campus, Clarkson will be honoured by the Association with the newly established Excellence in Education Award. The award recognizes a non-teaching staff member who has exhibited devotion to the college community and furthering opportunities of students. “She embodies the drive the college hopes to instill in graduates in both their professional and personal life,” said Gabe Mercier, Director of the Parkland Campus.

Award recipients will be formally recognized at the Parkland Region Alumni Dinner on Thursday, April 11, at Aspen Lodge (formerly the Lion’s Den) in the Parkland Recreation Complex.

For event details, or to purchase tickets for the dinner, please contact Ashley Sidlar at 204.622.2222, or visit the ACC Parkland campus.

Photo: Cheryl Sorenson-Voigt will receive the Excellence in Teaching Award, along with her colleague, Melanie Hawranik-Sobering.