Assiniboine announces inaugural One to Watch entrance award winners

Vic Ave

Assiniboine Community College has announced more than two dozen recipients of the inaugural One to Watch Entrance award. The award, introduced this past academic year, provides every high school in Manitoba with a dedicated $1,000 award for a graduating student who is continuing their post-secondary studies at Assiniboine.

The annual award recognizes high school students who demonstrated exceptional leadership and community involvement throughout their secondary schooling. “Our close relationship with high schools across Manitoba continues to be a great strength for the college, with many high schools eager to nominate students,” said Bryce Neufeld, Associate Registrar at Assiniboine. “With recipients from as far north as Thompson and as far south as Manitou, we are excited to welcome this diverse group of 27 young leaders to Assiniboine in the fall.”

The One to Watch Entrance Award was created by Assiniboine to foster the next generation of leaders, equipping them with the skills and resources to grow as a capable young person in Manitoba.

Thompson local and 2020 Award recipient Joshua Smud said receiving this award will assist in making the transition from high school to college easier as well as the relocation from Thompson to Brandon.

“I felt delighted and honored that my hard work and dedication throughout my high school years qualified me for this award,” said Joshua.

“The award will assist me in helping cover some of the fees associated with attending college.”

Joshua has been accepted into the Carpentry & Woodworking program at the college’s North Hill campus in Brandon and will begin his studies in September.

“I’m looking forward to expanding my skills in the carpentry field,” he said.

List of One to Watch High School Award recipients:




Aidan-Julia Roberts

Winnipeg, MB

Business Administration Marketing

Madison Barteaux

Foxwarren, MB

Social Services Worker

Whitley McDonald

Carberry, MB


Zach Zurba

Dauphin, MB

Construction Electrician

Calista Green-Kynoch

Brandon, MB

Practical Nursing

Jack Austin

Birtle, MB


Shelby Dheilly

Elm Creek, MB


Hayley Ryznar

Onanole, MB

Legal Administration

Tyler Shoemaker

Grandview, MB

Carpentry & Woodworking

Dawson Brooks

Hamiota, MB

Interactive Media Arts

Vaughn Zimmer

Inglis, MB

Heavy Duty Equipment Technician

Andrew Greig

Melita, MB


Brooklyn Chartrand

Neepaw, MB

Police Studies

Cora Fijala

Manitou, MB

Practical Nursing

Travis Eilers

Portage la Prairie, MB

Interactive Media Arts

Joshue Smud

Thompson, MB

Carpentry & Woodworking

Hunter Hiebert

Reston, MB

Interactive Media Arts

Avery Wakelam

Rivers, MB


Amee Butterfield

Souris, MB

Business Administration Accounting

Katrina Tobin

Winnipeg, MB

Legal Administration

Tyler Didyk

St. Francois Xavier


Derek Marshall

Ste. Rose, MB

Carpentry & Woodworking

Samantha Holyk

Stonewall, MB


Alyssa McCutcheon

Strathclair, MB

Land & Water Management

Emily Day

Brandon, MB

Business Administration Accounting

Alex Edwards

Virden, MB

Business Administration Accounting

Tristen Shiner

Elkhorn, MB

Heavy Duty Equipment Technician