Assiniboine puts out nomination call for alumni awards

alumni awards

Assiniboine Community College is now accepting nominations for its annual alumni awards, which will be presented at the college’s Alumni Advancement Dinner on Thursday, March 26, 2020, in Brandon.

“The calibre of nominations we receive continues to exceed all expectations, year to year. I’m fortunate to meet and work with many Assiniboine Agribusiness alumni, throughout my day-to-day work,” said Wayne Kirk, President of Assiniboine’s Alumni Association.

“I enjoy learning about and celebrating the many other college alumni who are making great achievements in their industries and having a tremendous impact on the communities they live in.”

Individuals can nominate an Assiniboine alumnus for one of two categories.

  1. Distinguished Alumni Award (up to two award recipients): Awarded to alumni of the college who have distinguished themselves in both their chosen professions and their communities.
  1. One to Watch Award: Awarded to alumni of the college, 35 years or younger, who have demonstrated exceptional achievement and significant contribution to their professions or communities.

There is also the Excellence in Education Award, which will be presented to a current staff or faculty member who has made an extraordinary contribution to teaching and the student experience.

“This is one of the most gratifying parts of my job,” said Lisa Huston, Alumni Relations Coordinator at Assiniboine. “To see the challenges and successes of so many of our alumni is inspiring. Our Advancement Dinner provides a venue for us to come together and celebrate our more than 40,000 Assiniboine alumni around the globe.”

The deadline for nominations is Thursday, November 22, 2019. For nomination forms and more information, visit or email

Awards will be presented at the annual Alumni Advancement Dinner on March 26, 2020. Tickets for the event go on sale in January 2020.

Last year’s recipients included Jeffrey Johnston, Glen Tosh, Brice Perkins, Martin Raupers and Mark Malyon. To find out more about them and other past Assiniboine Alumni Award recipients, visit